Annotated aerial view of CDG1 in Lisses: footprint, watercourse, substation and nearest dwellings, with measured distances.

Pillar sub-scores

A pillar mixes what is endured and what is chosen; a grade is not the average of the pillars.
●●●○ = documentation available
Energy
EnergyE
●●●●

Missing: PUE (announced energy efficiency), Waste-heat recovery — commitment.

Water
WaterC
●●●●

Missing: Cooling technology + announced water volume.

Land & biodiversity
Land & biodiversityE
●●●○

Missing: Ecological corridors (TVB), Site ground footprint, Avoid-reduce-offset (ERC) measures, Designated for urbanisation in a supra-municipal plan, Planning-document compatibility procedure under way.

Local impact
Local impactD
●●○○

Missing: Announced jobs, Announced tax revenue, Observed level of opposition, Elected officials' position (voted facts only).

Transparency & governance
Transparency & governance–

“Rated D on site, but E on “Energy”.”

This site is among the 80% of the fleet connected to an already-saturated substation. Fleet figures →

This site is in France — the country's site index: C (55.9). See the country index →

What the environmental case file states

2021-05-15 · 20 pages · read the opinion (PDF)

Energy and heat

Grid connection voltage225 kVp.2
Le projet nécessite la création d’une liaison électrique souterraine à très haute tension (225 kV) d’une longueur de 1,8 km, reliant le site du projet au poste du réseau de transport d’électricité (RTE) « Les Aqueducs ».
Data hall (IT) power240 MWp.19
La demande client n’est toutefois pas caractérisée et quantifiée, afin de justifier le large dimensionnement du projet, comprenant deux bâtiments de 33 000 m2, 48 salles informatiques et une puissance de 240 MW en phase finale.
Distance to district heating network850 mp.15
33 Selon l’étude d’impact, Il existe un réseau de chaleur en provenance de l’incinérateur de Vert-le-Grand, à environ 850 m à l’ouest du site, mais la température de la chaleur fatale du data-center est trop basse pour permettre son raccordement à cette boucle (p. 183).

Water and cooling

Cooling technologyfree_coolingp.15
Dans l’étude d’impact, plusieurs dispositions visant à améliorer l’efficacité énergétique du site sont citées, reposant principalement sur une organisation des « allées informatiques » séparant les couloirs froids et chauds et sur le refroidissement des salles informatiques par « free-cooling »31.
Refrigerant (designation)2 values
R134ap.8104 groupes froids situés en toiture (52 par bâtiment, dont 4 de secours) fonctionn ant avec le fluide frigorigène R134a, représentant une quantité de 79 040 kg de fluide frigorigène à l’échelle du site.
R124ap.16l’hexafluorure de soufre (SF6), utilisé comme isolant dans les transformateurs, et le R124a, un fluide frigorigène de type hydrofluorocarbone (HFC) utilisé pour les groupes froids.

Generators and fuel

Backup generators (count)114 groupesp.2
L’alimentation de secours du site est assurée par 114 groupes électrogènes d’une puissance électrique d’environ 232 MW, alimentés au fuel (stock de 2 284 tonnes) .
Backup generators total thermal power (ICPE 3110)608 MWthp.8
114 groupes électrogènes situés en toiture (57 par bâtiment, dont 8 de secours et 1 pour les bureaux), représentant à l’échelle du site une puissance thermique simultanée totale d’environ 608 MW (consommation) et une puissance électrique de 232,5 MW15 (production) ;
Backup generator fuelfuel_oil_or_dieselp.8
En cas de défaillance de l’alimentation électrique, des groupes électrogènes de secours, alimentés en fioul, sont chargés de prendre le relais et permettent une autonomie électrique du site pendant 48 heures.
Fuel tanks (count)2 values
36 cuves · 56 cuvesp.836 cuves enterrées de fioul domestique d’un volume unitaire de 70 m3, réparties dans quatre zones à l’extérieur des bâtiments, qui alimentent les groupes électrogènes et sont associées à des nourrices d’alimentation (56 cuves de 1,3 m3) permettant de démarrer rapidement les groupes électrogènes, soit un volume total de fioul stocké sur le site de 2 284 tonnes et 2 520 m3 ;
Fuel tank unit volume1.3 m³p.8
36 cuves enterrées de fioul domestique d’un volume unitaire de 70 m3, réparties dans quatre zones à l’extérieur des bâtiments, qui alimentent les groupes électrogènes et sont associées à des nourrices d’alimentation (56 cuves de 1,3 m3) permettant de démarrer rapidement les groupes électrogènes, soit un volume total de fioul stocké sur le site de 2 284 tonnes et 2 520 m3 ;
Total fuel storage volume3 values
70 m³ · 1.3 m³ · 2,520 m³p.836 cuves enterrées de fioul domestique d’un volume unitaire de 70 m3, réparties dans quatre zones à l’extérieur des bâtiments, qui alimentent les groupes électrogènes et sont associées à des nourrices d’alimentation (56 cuves de 1,3 m3) permettant de démarrer rapidement les groupes électrogènes, soit un volume total de fioul stocké sur le site de 2 284 tonnes et 2 520 m3 ;
Backup autonomy48 hp.8
En cas de défaillance de l’alimentation électrique, des groupes électrogènes de secours, alimentés en fioul, sont chargés de prendre le relais et permettent une autonomie électrique du site pendant 48 heures.

Neighbourhood

Distance to nearest dwellings550 mp.7
Les premières habitations sont situées à 550 mètres au nord-est.

Footprint and buildings

Plot area13.7 hap.2
Il consiste, sur une parcelle agricole de 13,7 hectares, en la construction successive de deux bâtiments comprenant chacun 24 salles informatiques.
Building footprint21,350 m²p.7
Chaque bâtiment, érigé à un niveau R+1 a vec un toit terrasse technique, développe une surface de plancher d’environ 33 000 m2 pour 21 350 m2 d’emprise au sol.
Gross floor area33,000 m²p.7
Chaque bâtiment, érigé à un niveau R+1 a vec un toit terrasse technique, développe une surface de plancher d’environ 33 000 m2 pour 21 350 m2 d’emprise au sol.

ICPE classificationICPE — the French regime that authorises, frames and inspects an activity liable to create a risk or a nuisance. Each number designates the activity concerned in the national nomenclature. Being classified does not mean being dangerous: it means being regulated, and therefore inspected.

  • 3110Combustion — plants with a total thermal input ≥ 50 MW (IED directive)
  • 4734Storage of petroleum products (the generators' fuel)
  • 2925Battery charging areas (backup batteries)

Authority's reservations16

… p.2
… p.9
… p.10
… p.10

The others in the opinion (12) →

These figures are not a grade. They come from the file submitted by the applicant and from the environmental authority's opinion; we report them with their sentence and page, we do not assess them.

This block exists only for projects subject to environmental assessment — a minority of sites.Its absence does not mean an absence of impact: it means no usable public document has been identified in our corpus to date.

Tracked indicators

IndicatorValueReadingStateSource
Energy
Local grid carbon intensity How much CO₂ is emitted to produce the electricity the site will consume, based on the regional grid. The lower the value, the better. 17.6 gCO2e/kWh Measured RTE eCO2mix (données définitives) — France national CO2 intensity, 12-month mean 2025-07-30..2026-04-30 (17.6 gCO2/kWh, n=13196 half-hourly) — accessed 2026-07-30
Grid connection capacity / proximity How easily the site can be connected to the power grid: available capacity and distance to the nearest substation. grid saturated at the connection point Measured Caparéseau (RTE S3REnR) — poste COQUIBUS at 1.7 km: 0.0 MW available hosting capacity (updated 27/06/2026) — accessed 2026-07-08
Grid congestion / connection queue How congested the local grid is: the more saturated, the more the connection competes with other users. critical local grid congestion Measured Caparéseau (RTE S3REnR) — poste COQUIBUS at 1.7 km: 100.0% reserved-capacity fill rate (updated 27/06/2026) — accessed 2026-07-08
PUE (announced energy efficiency) The announced energy efficiency: total electricity used versus what actually powers computing. Closer to 1 is better. The lower the value, the better. — — Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. —
Heat-network connectability Whether the site can valorise its waste heat via a district-heating network: distance to the nearest network and presence of a connection obligation (priority development perimeter). no heat network nearby Measured France Chaleur Urbaine (data.gouv, lov2) — réseau de chaleur le plus proche : 1083 m (point→segment, Lambert 93) ; dans un PDP : non ; réseau classé : oui → eloigne (>1000 m) — accessed 2026-09-30
Waste-heat recovery — commitment Operator commitment level to valorise the site's waste heat (delivered / signed contract / study / intention / none). — — Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. —
Water
Local water stress Water tension in the area: in an already water-scarce region, withdrawals weigh more heavily. moderate water stress Measured VigiEau — drought-restriction status at point (accessed 2026-07-08) — accessed 2026-07-08
Water body status The ecological health of the affected river or aquifer, per the EU classification (from 'high' to 'bad'). water body in good status Measured EEA WISE (WFD 2022) — water body FRHR96 'L'Essonne du confluent de la Juine (exclu) au confluent de la Seine (exclu)': ecological status class 2/5 — accessed 2026-07-08
Basin withdrawal pressure How intensively water is already withdrawn from the basin: a heavily-tapped basin ill affords a new user. low abstraction in the basin Measured Hub'Eau BNPE — commune 91340: 0.006 Mm3 withdrawn in 2023 (all uses, provisional pressure band) — accessed 2026-07-08
Cooling technology + announced water volume The cooling technology chosen and the water volume it will consume, as announced by the operator. Not disclosed — Absent from the file We read the public file and the information is not in it. It counts as a zero in the grade. Avis de l'autorité environnementale — lecture d'absence — accessed 2026-10-14
Land & biodiversity
Overlap / distance to protected areas How close the project is to protected natural areas (Natura 2000, nature reserves…). protected natural area 1–5 km away Measured INPN / IGN API Carto — Natura 2000 & ZNIEFF overlap by distance ring — accessed 2026-07-08
Soil status (artificialized / natural / agricultural) What the land was before: already built (brownfield), natural, or farmland — sealing farmland or nature weighs most. farmland Measured IGN Corine Land Cover 2018 — class 211 (observed land cover fallback) — accessed 2026-07-08
Ecological corridors (TVB) Whether the project severs a wildlife corridor (green-and-blue network). Not disclosed — Absent from the file We read the public file and the information is not in it. It counts as a zero in the grade. —
Site ground footprint The SITE's ground footprint in hectares — the land the project takes up (buildings, roads, parking, substation, retention basins), not the building print alone: the larger, the greater the land impact. The lower the value, the better. — — Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. —
Avoid-reduce-offset (ERC) measures Measures to avoid, reduce or offset harm to soil artificialisation and biodiversity. (Heat recovery moved to E6/E7, Energy pillar.) — — Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. —
Designated for urbanisation in a supra-municipal plan not scored · contextual fact Is the site designated for urbanisation in a planning document above the municipality? A contextual fact, published as such: it neither improves nor worsens the grade. — — Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. —
Planning-document compatibility procedure under way not scored · contextual fact Is a procedure under way to make the planning document compatible with the project? A contextual fact: we follow the instrument, not the intention — the land status only changes the day the procedure completes. — — Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. —
Local impact
Municipality socio-economic profile The host town's social profile. A safeguard: a project must never improve its grade by locating in a vulnerable town. municipality's social profile: favourable Measured INSEE Filosofi (via data.gouv) — commune 91340: median disposable income 26150 €/consumption unit — accessed 2026-07-08
Absorption capacity (project size vs municipality) The project's size relative to the town: a very large project in a small town disrupts more. The lower the value, the better. 16.2756 MW per 1000 inhabitants Announced INSEE populations légales via geo.api.gouv.fr — Lisses (7373 hab.) ; puissance 120.0 MW (DCWatch ODbL, export 7dd5b5e9 ; source primaire https://cloudhq.com/campus/cdg-campus/). Ratio MW/1000 hab, calcul déterministe — accessed 2026-07-13
Technological hazard / nearby Seveso sites The presence of hazardous industrial sites (Seveso) nearby, adding risk to the surroundings. a Seveso establishment on record within 5 km Measured Géorisques — classified installations (Seveso status) within 5 km — accessed 2026-07-08
Announced jobs The number of permanent jobs announced, relative to project size. More is better. The higher the value, the better. — — Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. —
Announced tax revenue The tax revenue the project would bring to the town, as announced. — — Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. —
Observed level of opposition The scale of observed opposition: appeals, petitions, mobilizations reported by the press. Not disclosed — Absent from the file We read the public file and the information is not in it. It counts as a zero in the grade. —
Elected officials' position (voted facts only) Elected officials' position as expressed by official votes only (council decisions), with no personal judgment. Not disclosed — Absent from the file We read the public file and the information is not in it. It counts as a zero in the grade. —
Transparency & governance
Consultation / consent / governance (procedural proxies) The quality of the democratic process: public inquiry held, environmental authority opinion, appeals, CNDP referral. — — Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. —
Documentation transparency / file availability How genuinely accessible the project's file is to the public: published studies, figures and commitments. — — Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. —

Operator response

The operator can send us a response about this datasheet. When a response is received and publishable, it appears here, clearly attributed and dated.

A factual error? Use “Report an error”, attaching a source or supporting document.

State of the available data

26 indicators tracked · 11 measured · 1 announced (unverified) · 4 absent from the file · 10 not looked for yet.

Grade history

Methodology 0.3.0 scoremydatacenter.org