Annotated aerial view of Interxion PAR11 in La Courneuve: footprint, watercourse, substation and nearest dwellings, with measured distances.

Pillar sub-scores

A pillar mixes what is endured and what is chosen; a grade is not the average of the pillars.
●●●○ = documentation available
Energy
Energy
●●●●

Missing: PUE (announced energy efficiency), Waste-heat recovery — commitment.

Water
Water
●●●●

Missing: Cooling technology + announced water volume.

Land & biodiversity
Land & biodiversity
●●●○

Missing: Ecological corridors (TVB), Site ground footprint, Avoid-reduce-offset (ERC) measures, Designated for urbanisation in a supra-municipal plan, Planning-document compatibility procedure under way.

Local impact
Local impact
●●○○

Missing: Announced jobs, Announced tax revenue, Observed level of opposition, Elected officials' position (voted facts only).

Transparency & governance
Transparency & governance–

“Rated C on site, but E on “Energy”.”

This site is among the 80% of the fleet connected to an already-saturated substation. Fleet figures →

This site is in France — the country's site index: C (55.9). See the country index →

What the environmental case file states

2019-01-30 · 21 pages · read the opinion (PDF)

Generators and fuel

Backup generators (count)18 groupesp.8
l’estimation des émissions annuelles théoriques de polluants dans l’air présentée page 66, qui porte sur 18 groupes électrogènes par entité, soit au total 72 groupes pour l’ensemble du centre ;

Footprint and buildings

Plot area10 hap.3
les travaux et constructions qui créent une surface de plancher au sens de l’article R.111-22 du code de l’urbanisme ou une emprise au sol au sens de l’article R.420-1 du code de l’urbanisme supérieure ou égale à 40 000 m2 - les opérations d’aménagement dont le terrain d’assiette est supérieur ou égal à 10 ha, ou dont la surface de plancher au sens de l'article R.
Gross floor area115,000 m²p.1
Le projet développe à terme, pour le seul « digital center », plus de 115 000 m2 de surface de plancher (dont 97 680 m2 réservés à la seule activité d’hébergement de données et aux locaux techniques) Le projet s’implante sur un te rrain de 67 603 m2, dans un cadre urbain dense qui comprend notamment des zones d’habitation.

ICPE classificationICPE — the French regime that authorises, frames and inspects an activity liable to create a risk or a nuisance. Each number designates the activity concerned in the national nomenclature. Being classified does not mean being dangerous: it means being regulated, and therefore inspected.

  • 2910Combustion — plants below that threshold
  • 3110Combustion — plants with a total thermal input ≥ 50 MW (IED directive)

Authority's reservations11

… p.7
… p.8
… p.11
… p.13

The others in the opinion (7) →

These figures are not a grade. They come from the file submitted by the applicant and from the environmental authority's opinion; we report them with their sentence and page, we do not assess them.

This block exists only for projects subject to environmental assessment — a minority of sites.Its absence does not mean an absence of impact: it means no usable public document has been identified in our corpus to date.

Tracked indicators

IndicatorValueReadingStateSource
Energy
Local grid carbon intensity How much CO₂ is emitted to produce the electricity the site will consume, based on the regional grid. The lower the value, the better. 17.6 gCO2e/kWh Measured RTE eCO2mix (données définitives) — France national CO2 intensity, 12-month mean 2025-07-30..2026-04-30 (17.6 gCO2/kWh, n=13196 half-hourly) — accessed 2026-07-30
Grid connection capacity / proximity How easily the site can be connected to the power grid: available capacity and distance to the nearest substation. grid saturated at the connection point Measured Caparéseau (RTE S3REnR) — poste COURNEUVE(LA) at 1.1 km: 0.0 MW available hosting capacity (updated 27/06/2026) — accessed 2026-07-14
Grid congestion / connection queue How congested the local grid is: the more saturated, the more the connection competes with other users. critical local grid congestion Measured Caparéseau (RTE S3REnR) — poste COURNEUVE(LA) at 1.1 km: 100.0% reserved-capacity fill rate (updated 27/06/2026) — accessed 2026-07-14
PUE (announced energy efficiency) The announced energy efficiency: total electricity used versus what actually powers computing. Closer to 1 is better. The lower the value, the better. — — Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. —
Heat-network connectability Whether the site can valorise its waste heat via a district-heating network: distance to the nearest network and presence of a connection obligation (priority development perimeter). connectable to an existing heat network Measured France Chaleur Urbaine (data.gouv, lov2) — réseau de chaleur le plus proche : 101 m (point→segment, Lambert 93) ; dans un PDP : oui ; réseau classé : oui → raccordable (≤300 m) — accessed 2026-09-30
Waste-heat recovery — commitment Operator commitment level to valorise the site's waste heat (delivered / signed contract / study / intention / none). Not disclosed — Absent from the file We read the public file and the information is not in it. It counts as a zero in the grade. Avis de l'autorité environnementale — lecture d'absence — accessed 2026-10-14
Water
Local water stress Water tension in the area: in an already water-scarce region, withdrawals weigh more heavily. moderate water stress Measured VigiEau — drought-restriction status at point (accessed 2026-07-14) — accessed 2026-07-14
Water body status The ecological health of the affected river or aquifer, per the EU classification (from 'high' to 'bad'). water body in moderate status Measured EEA WISE (WFD 2022) — water body FRHR157B 'le Croult du lac départemental de la Courneuve au confluent de la Seine (exclu)': ecological status class 3/5 — accessed 2026-07-14
Basin withdrawal pressure How intensively water is already withdrawn from the basin: a heavily-tapped basin ill affords a new user. low abstraction in the basin Measured Hub'Eau BNPE — commune 93027: 0.078 Mm3 withdrawn in 2023 (all uses, provisional pressure band) — accessed 2026-07-14
Cooling technology + announced water volume The cooling technology chosen and the water volume it will consume, as announced by the operator. Not disclosed — Absent from the file We read the public file and the information is not in it. It counts as a zero in the grade. Avis de l'autorité environnementale — lecture d'absence — accessed 2026-10-14
Land & biodiversity
Overlap / distance to protected areas How close the project is to protected natural areas (Natura 2000, nature reserves…). protected natural area within 1 km Measured INPN / IGN API Carto — Natura 2000 & ZNIEFF overlap by distance ring — accessed 2026-07-14
Soil status (artificialized / natural / agricultural) What the land was before: already built (brownfield), natural, or farmland — sealing farmland or nature weighs most. previously developed land Measured IGN API Carto GPU — PLU zoning 'UMD' — accessed 2026-07-14
Ecological corridors (TVB) Whether the project severs a wildlife corridor (green-and-blue network). Not disclosed — Absent from the file We read the public file and the information is not in it. It counts as a zero in the grade. —
Site ground footprint The SITE's ground footprint in hectares — the land the project takes up (buildings, roads, parking, substation, retention basins), not the building print alone: the larger, the greater the land impact. The lower the value, the better. — — Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. —
Avoid-reduce-offset (ERC) measures Measures to avoid, reduce or offset harm to soil artificialisation and biodiversity. (Heat recovery moved to E6/E7, Energy pillar.) — — Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. —
Designated for urbanisation in a supra-municipal plan not scored · contextual fact Is the site designated for urbanisation in a planning document above the municipality? A contextual fact, published as such: it neither improves nor worsens the grade. — — Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. —
Planning-document compatibility procedure under way not scored · contextual fact Is a procedure under way to make the planning document compatible with the project? A contextual fact: we follow the instrument, not the intention — the land status only changes the day the procedure completes. — — Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. —
Local impact
Municipality socio-economic profile The host town's social profile. A safeguard: a project must never improve its grade by locating in a vulnerable town. municipality's social profile: fragile Measured INSEE Filosofi (via data.gouv) — commune 93027: median disposable income 15150 €/consumption unit — accessed 2026-07-14
Absorption capacity (project size vs municipality) The project's size relative to the town: a very large project in a small town disrupts more. The lower the value, the better. 0.4071 MW per 1000 inhabitants Announced INSEE populations légales via geo.api.gouv.fr — La Courneuve (47167 hab.) ; puissance 19.2 MW (DCWatch ODbL, export 7dd5b5e9). Ratio MW/1000 hab, calcul déterministe — accessed 2026-07-14
Technological hazard / nearby Seveso sites The presence of hazardous industrial sites (Seveso) nearby, adding risk to the surroundings. a Seveso establishment on record within 5 km Measured Géorisques — classified installations (Seveso status) within 5 km — accessed 2026-07-14
Announced jobs The number of permanent jobs announced, relative to project size. More is better. The higher the value, the better. — — Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. —
Announced tax revenue The tax revenue the project would bring to the town, as announced. — — Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. —
Observed level of opposition The scale of observed opposition: appeals, petitions, mobilizations reported by the press. Not disclosed — Absent from the file We read the public file and the information is not in it. It counts as a zero in the grade. —
Elected officials' position (voted facts only) Elected officials' position as expressed by official votes only (council decisions), with no personal judgment. Not disclosed — Absent from the file We read the public file and the information is not in it. It counts as a zero in the grade. —
Transparency & governance
Consultation / consent / governance (procedural proxies) The quality of the democratic process: public inquiry held, environmental authority opinion, appeals, CNDP referral. — — Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. —
Documentation transparency / file availability How genuinely accessible the project's file is to the public: published studies, figures and commitments. — — Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. —

Operator response

The operator can send us a response about this datasheet. When a response is received and publishable, it appears here, clearly attributed and dated.

A factual error? Use “Report an error”, attaching a source or supporting document.

State of the available data

26 indicators tracked · 11 measured · 1 announced (unverified) · 5 absent from the file · 9 not looked for yet.

Grade history

Methodology 0.3.0 scoremydatacenter.org