Pillar sub-scores
A pillar mixes what is endured and what is chosen; a grade is not the average of the pillars.Missing: PUE (announced energy efficiency), Waste-heat recovery — commitment.
Missing: Cooling technology + announced water volume.
Missing: Ecological corridors (TVB), Site ground footprint, Avoid-reduce-offset (ERC) measures, Designated for urbanisation in a supra-municipal plan, Planning-document compatibility procedure under way.
Missing: Absorption capacity (project size vs municipality), Announced jobs, Announced tax revenue, Observed level of opposition, Elected officials' position (voted facts only).
“Rated C on site, but E on “Energy”.”
This site is among the 80% of the fleet connected to an already-saturated substation. Fleet figures →
This site is in France — the country's site index: C (55.9). See the country index →
What the environmental case file states
2020-04-23 · 26 pages · read the opinion (PDF)
Energy and heat
Announced PUE1.25p.18
Le PUE du site du projet est actuellement de 1,25.
Waste heat recoveryunder_studyp.2
de compléter l’étude d’impact en caractérisant la consommation d’énergie du projet et ses incidences en terme de pression sur le système énergétique local et en justifiant le choix de ne pas récupérer et valoriser la chaleur fatale issue des data-centers par une étude de variantes analysant les bénéfices et inconvénients des solutions envisagées ;
Generators and fuel
Backup generators (count)86 groupesp.1
À l’échelle du site, l’alimentation de secours repose sur 86 groupes électrogènes, alimentés par 2,2 millions de litres de fioul stockés dans 45 cuves enterrées.
Backup generator fuelfuel_oil_or_dieselp.1
À l’échelle du site, l’alimentation de secours repose sur 86 groupes électrogènes, alimentés par 2,2 millions de litres de fioul stockés dans 45 cuves enterrées.
Fuel tanks (count)2 values
45 cuvesp.1À l’échelle du site, l’alimentation de secours repose sur 86 groupes électrogènes, alimentés par 2,2 millions de litres de fioul stockés dans 45 cuves enterrées.
44 cuvesp.1044 cuves aériennes pour les nourrices des groupes électrogènes, représentant un volume total de 80 500 litres de fioul (80,5 m3) .
Total fuel storage volume2 values
2,260 m³p.1045 cuves de fioul domestique enterrées, représentant un volume total de 2 260 000 litres (2 260 m3);
80.5 m³p.1044 cuves aériennes pour les nourrices des groupes électrogènes, représentant un volume total de 80 500 litres de fioul (80,5 m3) .
Neighbourhood
Distance to nearest dwellings100 mp.22
3.5.4 Analyse de l’étude de danger D’après l’étude de danger, les premières habitations sont situées à environ 100 mètres à vol d’oiseau et à 350 mètres du périmètre d’exploitation ( pages 36-37, volet C ).
Footprint and buildings
Plot area121 hap.7
9 S’agissant du terrain d’assiette, incluant une partie du boisement adjacent au site , les données font état de 121 hectares (volet A, page 11), 110 hectares (étude écologique, volet D, page 3) ou 104 hectares (formulaire de demande d’autorisation environnementale joint au volet A, page 5).
ICPE classificationICPE — the French regime that authorises, frames and inspects an activity liable to create a risk or a nuisance. Each number designates the activity concerned in the national nomenclature. Being classified does not mean being dangerous: it means being regulated, and therefore inspected.
- 2910Combustion — plants below that threshold
- 4734Storage of petroleum products (the generators' fuel)
- 1185Fluorinated greenhouse gases (cooling refrigerants)
- 3110Combustion — plants with a total thermal input ≥ 50 MW (IED directive)
Tracked indicators
| Indicator | Value | Reading | State | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Energy | ||||
| Local grid carbon intensity How much CO₂ is emitted to produce the electricity the site will consume, based on the regional grid. The lower the value, the better. | 17.6 gCO2e/kWh | Measured | RTE eCO2mix (données définitives) — France national CO2 intensity, 12-month mean 2025-07-30..2026-04-30 (17.6 gCO2/kWh, n=13196 half-hourly) — accessed 2026-07-30 | |
| Grid connection capacity / proximity How easily the site can be connected to the power grid: available capacity and distance to the nearest substation. | grid saturated at the connection point | Measured | Caparéseau (RTE S3REnR) — poste CHARTREUX at 4.4 km: 0.0 MW available hosting capacity (updated 13/06/2026) — accessed 2026-07-10 | |
| Grid congestion / connection queue How congested the local grid is: the more saturated, the more the connection competes with other users. | critical local grid congestion | Measured | Caparéseau (RTE S3REnR) — poste CHARTREUX at 4.4 km: 100.0% reserved-capacity fill rate (updated 13/06/2026) — accessed 2026-07-10 | |
| PUE (announced energy efficiency) The announced energy efficiency: total electricity used versus what actually powers computing. Closer to 1 is better. The lower the value, the better. | — | — | Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. | — |
| Heat-network connectability Whether the site can valorise its waste heat via a district-heating network: distance to the nearest network and presence of a connection obligation (priority development perimeter). | no heat network nearby | Measured | France Chaleur Urbaine (data.gouv, lov2) — réseau de chaleur le plus proche : aucun réseau dans ~1,5 km (point→segment, Lambert 93) ; dans un PDP : non ; réseau classé : non → eloigne (>1000 m) — accessed 2026-09-30 | |
| Waste-heat recovery — commitment Operator commitment level to valorise the site's waste heat (delivered / signed contract / study / intention / none). | — | — | Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. | — |
| Water | ||||
| Local water stress Water tension in the area: in an already water-scarce region, withdrawals weigh more heavily. | moderate water stress | Measured | VigiEau — drought-restriction status at point (accessed 2026-07-10) — accessed 2026-07-10 | |
| Water body status The ecological health of the affected river or aquifer, per the EU classification (from 'high' to 'bad'). | water body in bad status | Measured | EEA WISE (WFD 2022) — water body FRHR98-F4645000 'ruisseau la salmouille': ecological status class 5/5 — accessed 2026-07-10 | |
| Basin withdrawal pressure How intensively water is already withdrawn from the basin: a heavily-tapped basin ill affords a new user. | low abstraction in the basin | Measured | Hub'Eau BNPE — commune 91363: 0.023 Mm3 withdrawn in 2023 (all uses, provisional pressure band) — accessed 2026-07-10 | |
| Cooling technology + announced water volume The cooling technology chosen and the water volume it will consume, as announced by the operator. | Not disclosed | — | Absent from the file We read the public file and the information is not in it. It counts as a zero in the grade. | Avis de l'autorité environnementale — lecture d'absence — accessed 2026-10-14 |
| Land & biodiversity | ||||
| Overlap / distance to protected areas How close the project is to protected natural areas (Natura 2000, nature reserves…). | protected natural area 1–5 km away | Measured | INPN / IGN API Carto — Natura 2000 & ZNIEFF overlap by distance ring — accessed 2026-07-10 | |
| Soil status (artificialized / natural / agricultural) What the land was before: already built (brownfield), natural, or farmland — sealing farmland or nature weighs most. | previously developed land | Measured | IGN API Carto GPU — PLU zoning 'UI3' — accessed 2026-07-10 | |
| Ecological corridors (TVB) Whether the project severs a wildlife corridor (green-and-blue network). | Not disclosed | — | Absent from the file We read the public file and the information is not in it. It counts as a zero in the grade. | — |
| Site ground footprint The SITE's ground footprint in hectares — the land the project takes up (buildings, roads, parking, substation, retention basins), not the building print alone: the larger, the greater the land impact. The lower the value, the better. | — | — | Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. | — |
| Avoid-reduce-offset (ERC) measures Measures to avoid, reduce or offset harm to soil artificialisation and biodiversity. (Heat recovery moved to E6/E7, Energy pillar.) | — | — | Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. | — |
| Designated for urbanisation in a supra-municipal plan not scored · contextual fact Is the site designated for urbanisation in a planning document above the municipality? A contextual fact, published as such: it neither improves nor worsens the grade. | — | — | Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. | — |
| Planning-document compatibility procedure under way not scored · contextual fact Is a procedure under way to make the planning document compatible with the project? A contextual fact: we follow the instrument, not the intention — the land status only changes the day the procedure completes. | — | — | Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. | — |
| Local impact | ||||
| Municipality socio-economic profile The host town's social profile. A safeguard: a project must never improve its grade by locating in a vulnerable town. | municipality's social profile: favourable | Measured | INSEE Filosofi (via data.gouv) — commune 91363: median disposable income 28880 €/consumption unit — accessed 2026-07-10 | |
| Absorption capacity (project size vs municipality) The project's size relative to the town: a very large project in a small town disrupts more. The lower the value, the better. | Not disclosed | — | Absent from the file We read the public file and the information is not in it. It counts as a zero in the grade. | — |
| Technological hazard / nearby Seveso sites The presence of hazardous industrial sites (Seveso) nearby, adding risk to the surroundings. | no technological-risk site on record within 5 km, to our knowledge | Measured | Géorisques — registre des installations classées (statut Seveso) qui ÉNUMÈRE : aucun établissement Seveso (seuil haut/bas) dans 5 km (site-de-contrôle A1 validé). — accessed 2026-10-06 | |
| Announced jobs The number of permanent jobs announced, relative to project size. More is better. The higher the value, the better. | Not disclosed | — | Absent from the file We read the public file and the information is not in it. It counts as a zero in the grade. | Avis de l'autorité environnementale — lecture d'absence — accessed 2026-10-14 |
| Announced tax revenue The tax revenue the project would bring to the town, as announced. | — | — | Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. | — |
| Observed level of opposition The scale of observed opposition: appeals, petitions, mobilizations reported by the press. | Not disclosed | — | Absent from the file We read the public file and the information is not in it. It counts as a zero in the grade. | — |
| Elected officials' position (voted facts only) Elected officials' position as expressed by official votes only (council decisions), with no personal judgment. | Not disclosed | — | Absent from the file We read the public file and the information is not in it. It counts as a zero in the grade. | — |
| Transparency & governance | ||||
| Consultation / consent / governance (procedural proxies) The quality of the democratic process: public inquiry held, environmental authority opinion, appeals, CNDP referral. | — | — | Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. | — |
| Documentation transparency / file availability How genuinely accessible the project's file is to the public: published studies, figures and commitments. | — | — | Not looked for yet We have not looked for this yet. It is dropped from the calculation and does not penalise the site. | — |
Operator response
The operator can send us a response about this datasheet. When a response is received and publishable, it appears here, clearly attributed and dated.
A factual error? Use “Report an error”, attaching a source or supporting document.
State of the available data
26 indicators tracked · 11 measured · 0 announced (unverified) · 6 absent from the file · 9 not looked for yet.